Day One

I heard this song as I was driving to work this morning and have since heard it at least twice more today. It resonates today as I just feel like I’m in such a good place, regardless of the craziness abounding. I’m trying not to let that take me captive and instead doing the “next right thing.”

“It’s Day One of the best of my life.” I remember hearing people say that their 30s were great; I shrugged it off as I wasn’t yet there. I hit them and began to wonder “What’s so great about this? I’m single and I’m really not fond of myself; inside or out.” Oh, how things have changed!

I can do nothing but thank God for that.

For His mercies that are new every day.

For His love that endures forever.

For His hand that I cannot be snatched out of.

I feel as if I’m finally coming into my own. It only took 33 years, that’s not so bad, right? I appreciate the woman God has made me to be and am excited for what He has planned next. This year itself (and we’re only 4 months in) has held a few firsts and other surprises that I could not have foreseen or imagined. And good or bad, I have come through them stronger.

I’m done wishing and am working with God to become who He has made me to be. I used to think that starting over meant that I had failed previously. While that may hold true in some cases, it is more important to focus on the fact that starting over means having the benefit of a clean slate. In Christ we get that. Every. Single. Day.

Are you ready for Day One?

Love & Blessings,

KJ

Leave a Reply

