The Greatest Story Ever Told

If you have known me for any length of time it has probably come out that Cinderella is my favorite Disney princess. She is kind & loving and not a wimp, by any means. More than that, though, the story of Cinderella in general has always been my favorite story. When I was teaching, I did a whole unit on Cinderella stories from around the world (my favorite is The Way Meat Loves Salt by Nina Jaffe – you should check it out!). On a whole, it just seems to be a most romantic story and, well, I’m a hopeless romantic, so we fit together nicely.

This past weekend, a bunch of girlfriends and I went to go see the new Cinderella movie. It was pretty amazing! The visuals were lovely, from the gowns to the special effects, and the casting was pretty spot on. It had the basic Disney story as its basis and worked other details in. I enjoyed that they kept the magical element (though one of my favorite Cinderella movies is still Ever After). The end was really the most beautiful part, though. *Spoiler Alert* Cinderella ends up with the prince (who is actually given a name – hooray! It’s Kit). What? You already knew that? Well, then, let me tell you what was so beautiful about it.

They finally find out that Cinderella was the mysterious girl at the ball (who Kit thought was a princess). She is in her dress with dirt & ash clinging to it as she walks toward Kit. Once he sees her, he asks who she is, really. She gives the name Cinderella, though that was the cruel name given her by her stepsisters, it is who she is. The rest of it goes something like this (quoted only because she’s speaking, not the actual quote from the movie).

“I am not a princess. I’m just a poor country girl. I have no parents. I have no dowry. Will you still take me as I am?”

It would take a lot for me to believe any girl or woman who says that does not touch a part of her, deep down inside. A longing to be loved for who she is, so completely. Even despite a telling name. Even despite shortcomings that may or may not be in her control. This is an experience I want…and then I realize, it’s one I’ve already had.

You may think it a stretch, but to me, this so clearly puts in my mind the image of my Savior. Jesus takes us as we are; dirty rags and all.

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. – Romans 5:8

There is nothing we can do to earn His acceptance; no amount of riches we could give as a dowry. He owns the cattle on a thousand hills! What would we, honestly, be able to give Him that isn’t His already? And still, He loves us. He loves us so much that He died for us, taking all of our sin, and all of God’s wrath for that sin, upon Himself. Not only that, but He conquered that sin when He rose from the dead. Though sin is still present in the world, and we battle it every day, Jesus has won the war. In knowing & accepting that; in knowing and accepting Jesus Christ as your Savior, you, too, can have your very own rags to riches story. And this one ends even better than Cinderella. No, you won’t get to marry a prince. *Spoiler Alert* But you will be joint heirs with the King.

And, truly, that is the greatest story I know. I pray there’s a place in your heart for it as well.

Love & Blessings,

KJ

Leave a Reply

