A Guarded Heart

Guard your heart. What does that make you think? I have often thought of it in the negative, like stacking bricks around it so nothing can get through. That’s not really the intent though:

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. -Proverbs 4:23

This makes me think more of someone standing guard, not only protecting my heart from that which seeks to enter, but also that which longs to be made known.

One of my great friends is constantly sending me links to articles and things she thinks I’ll enjoy or find helpful (I love it, Sara, don’t stop!). As we share so much with each other, she is in a good position to know where I’m coming from a lot of the time.

A while back we had a conversation on the topic of keeping your heart guarded while a relationship is developing. I had just read about it, probably in an article she had sent me, and had come to a realization. My heart is poorly guarded. I, too quickly, think of where something could lead (and in turn rather freak myself out) instead of paying attention to the here and now. I easily share thoughts that come from the very deepest part of my heart and then wonder why I feel heartbroken over a relationship that never really was one to begin with. Now, I can’t say I have the answer to how to guard your heart (or mine), but I know Who does…

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  -Philippians 4:6-7

If you don’t recognize this verse then you must not be reading my blog nearly enough 😉 It is often my go-to verse when I am anxious or worried, when I need to be reminded to hand things over to God & He will take care of them, when I don’t know what’s going on or what is to come in the future…basically all the time. But the part about guarding hearts did not ever quite resonate with me as much as it does now; now I understand it a bit more. And I will faithfully put my heart in the hands of He who can guard it best.

Praying you are able to do the same, no matter the situation, for your peace & His glory.

Love & Blessings,

KJ

Leave a Reply

