Reboot

Every now and again things are in need of a reboot. Whether it’s to take a rest, refresh, or just start over. I’ve been feeling like that too, lately. Worn out and just plain blah. Out of sorts and wondering where this path God’s leading me down is headed. Wondering if there’s a turn coming up ahead and what that might involve. But, most honestly, really wanting to be “on fire” for Him again. In the past weeks I have felt like there was something more I should be doing, but really had no idea what it could be. As I pondered, prayed, and talked about this with friends nothing really came…at first.

I have been coordinating Operation Christmas Child at my church for 3 years now. (If you do not know what OCC is, please take some time to check out their website – they are nothing short of amazing.) It is something I find great joy in; knowing that not only will kids around the world be given a shoebox full of gifts, but will also be told of the greatest gift ever given to mankind; Jesus Christ, the Son of God, and the sacrifice He made for us to be able to have a relationship with God. I cannot help but get excited when I talk about it, even when I think about it. I organized a packing party at church this year and we had a great turnout! We had at least 20 people come and we filled 54 boxes! It was such a great night of fellowship and fun. I was overwhelmed with what people were willing to give; especially when it came to paying for the shipping of all of the boxes. During that night and later I was talking with some friends about organizing a group trip next year to go to the processing center in Maryland and volunteer. This really got me excited; excited in a way I have not been in a long time. The more I thought about it, the more I felt a nudging to go…and not to wait a year to go, but to go now.

So, tomorrow, after church, I’m taking a young friend of mine and we are driving to Maryland! I’ve booked a hotel for the night and our volunteer shift is from 9-1 on Monday. I cannot help but smile when I tell people this. Who am I kidding? I cannot help but smile as I’m typing this! I get to serve “the least of these” and I don’t think there’s anywhere else I’d rather be come Monday morning. I don’t know what this means for the future, or where it will lead me, but, right now, I’m not worried about that at all. I’m already planning ideas for next year’s packing party, devising ways to collect various supplies, thinking of how we could plan a church-wide trip to volunteer. This feels so right and I’m excited (yes, I’m going to say it again), so EXCITED, to see where this leads!

This is the reboot I needed. Coming at just the right time (Thank You, Father, for showing me, again, how perfect Your timing is). Please pray that I continue to seek out His will and follow His path in this delight-filled endeavor. That I may be as excited to share the Gospel with my neighbors as I am to share it with children around the world.

As this time of year tends to be hectic, I pray you will take time to reboot. Take time to ask our Father just what it is you should be doing in this festive season. Most importantly, once He’s told you, do it. I have no doubt that it will bring Him glory, and you great joy.

Love & Blessings,

KJ

Leave a Reply

