Preparations for the Future

To be most honest, I haven’t written lately because I really haven’t wanted to sit down with my thoughts and sort them all out. Sometimes it just seems too hard and I would rather push them aside and pretend they are not there. Not the best thing, I know, but I really don’t like confrontation, especially if it is with myself. And then I read this during my dinner break at work tonight.

“I know that the experiences of our lives, when we let God use them, become the mysterious and perfect preparation for the work He will give us to do.” Corrie Ten Boom

And I was hit with it again. The reminder that nothing in this life is wasted; there is a reason for each experience; a chance for us to grow, to learn, to exhibit love, and to bring glory to Him who so rightly deserves it.

In the past few weeks I have stumbled through awkward moments, confronted fear and anxiety, been heart-broken over the undeniable fact that friends sometimes grow apart, despaired in my singleness, and had my eyes opened to a beauty within myself. Some triumphs, some reoccurring struggles, and some happy surprises. And in it all, I can see God’s hand. Do I know what He’s doing? Goodness, no. Does it concern me? Perhaps a little. But am I worried that He’s going to mess it all up? Ha – if you think God makes mistakes, I think we need to talk.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. – Isaiah 55:8-9

Somewhere down the road I’ll look back and understand why all of this has taken place. Some of it I can already see; some I won’t know until I see Him face to face. There are times when I’m not okay with that…now is not one of them. Come what may; joy, sorrow, hope, or heartbreak, I know my God is with me. He is molding me (ever so slowly it seems at times) into the woman He wants me to be.

But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand. Isaiah 64:8

Can you imagine making something with clay and never adding anything to the clay or not changing its shape or texture? Over time, clay dries out and if you don’t add water the vessel you make will crumble apart before you have a chance to fire it. If you quickly created something but did not take the time to smooth out the edges or make sure the bottom is level, it might not function as you hoped. That’s exactly what God is doing when you are going through trials and other learning experiences. It’s exactly what He’s been doing with me. It’s not easy, by any means, but He’s got it under control. After all, only He knows what the future holds. Who better is there to prepare us for it?

Love & Blessings
KJ

Leave a Reply

