Creative Friday: Craft show display and knitted goodies

The time has come for my first craft show with an official business and I would be lying if I said I haven’t been a little anxious…actually, at this moment I’m rather calm. However, it’s 10:30 at night and I still have to gather all of my stuff together and have it ready for the morning. I’m just glad I’m not traveling very far to get to the location. Last night I finally created the display I have been thinking about for the last week or so.

Image

With the exception of buying the jute ribbon for $10 I made it with things I had/found. The frame was a find from a friend’s yard sale and I got it for free. I spiffed it up by painting it with a nice brown and then put a coat of gold glittery paint on top. The frame didn’t have a back, so I brought home some boxes from work (books are always delivered in wonderfully sturdy boxes), painted them, and pieced a few flaps together to fit the back. Then I wrapped the ribbon around the back and hot glued it down. When that was in place I hot glued the cardboard to the frame, and voila! Lovey display! (Not to worry, I do have enough barrettes to fill in the whole thing and then some.)

I’m excited to see how it all goes tomorrow. I’m pretty sure I have a product that will draw attention and interest. I just have to be sure to keep it that way. I stuck with just barrettes for my first foray into the craft show world; they are quick to make and don’t require a lot of investment (mostly just the clips as I have yarn and buttons abounding). After this push I’m going to try to get my Etsy shop underway and do bigger items; stuffed animals, photo props, and the like. God only knows what wonderful thing are waiting just ahead, and I wouldn’t have it any other way (more on that to come 😉 )

Love & Blessings,

KJ

4 thoughts on “Creative Friday: Craft show display and knitted goodies

  1. you know if i were closer i might come and buy up a lot of that stock. 🙂 i’m sure it will go wonderful… besides if you start to run out of stock you can always start taking orders. i will be using your dishclothes/pot holders today and praying for your day often!

    • Thanks Becky Jane! It was a good day because as much as I want to be disappointed that I only made $3 more than what I paid for my spot at the show, I’m not. Prayer is a pretty amazing thing made even better by the One we pray to. Without Him I do not think it would have been nearly as good of a day.
      PS – if you are in need of some barrettes I might have a connection 🙂

Leave a Reply

