Lies of the Enemy

I know Labyrinth is a pretty cheesy movie, but it is one of my favorites nonetheless. As I was talking with some friends this evening I was reminded of this particular scene.
Have you even been going along, perfectly happy in your day, but then you hear this little voice telling you that you couldn’t possibly be good enough, that you’ve got it all wrong, that no one really cares, or that your faith is all a sham? (I know you’re wondering what this has to do with this movie, just trust me and follow along). I have heard those things, and worse yet, I’ve listened to them. Even when I know they are not true.

Lies. That is all they are. Lies. The preferred mode of the devil to wriggle his way into our lives and throw us off track. Do you ever notice that they “just happen” to come along when you are taking real strides in your faith? When you’ve just got on schedule with getting in the Word every day? When you have found joy in Christ in spite of whatever circumstance you are in at the moment? That’s no mere coincidence. He doesn’t want you in such a good place.

Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.
1 Peter 5:8

We need to be on guard, knowing what could be coming. Knowing that we have Someone bigger on our side.
When these instances come, and I begin to doubt, I think of this scene. As much as Jareth is trying to lure Sarah in, she finds the truth and udders 6 simple words: “You have no power over me!” I often find myself saying the same words. Sometimes I merely think them. Sometimes I shout them. No matter what, I know they are true; for with Christ on my side, with myself abiding in Him, there is nothing the Father of Lies can do that would take away that which I hold most precious of all: the love of my Father.

For I am convinced that neither life nor death, neither angels nor demons, neither the present not the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus, our Lord.
Romans 8:38-39

Take that to heart and keep it in mind when the whispers of the enemy reach your ears. Remember his powerlessness and the awesome power we possess, as joint heirs, with our Savior & Lord.

Love & Blessings,
KJ

Leave a Reply

