My Way? Or the High Way?

I was in an amazing place last Wednesday (you can read about it here). A place where I finally felt content with all that is going on, though I am far from understanding any of it. In the few days that followed a couple things happened that made me second-guess my stance on it all & my resolve to let God have control over it all (really, we are just kidding ourselves when we think the control is totally in our hands). I have been thinking on it, praying on it, but of course I cannot deal with this all on my own. Not when temptation to pick that burden back up and try to carry it myself is so strong. I know it is better left at the foot of the cross, but I was at a loss.

Then, yesterday morning, I read the entry for the day in devotional book Jesus Calling by Sarah Young and came across these verses:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8 & 9

Yes, that is right. His thoughts are higher than mine. As much as I like to think I know what I’m doing or that I have the best ideas, I know that’s not true, deep down. Ultimately He knows what He’s doing and He has the best ideas. And in the end, who am I to go up against the Creator of it all?

So, it is now my attempt to continue to be focused on Jesus, to fully put Him on the throne of my heart, and not shove Him off because a guy says “Hi” and I think I know the best way to handle the situation. No; I am going to keep Him there where He belongs, at the center of my very being, and listen for His Spirit to lead me along. To be honest, I tried it my way, and ultimately, it ended with me in tears. I’m all for trying it His way now; come what may.

May you, too, be able to keep Him on the throne in the days ahead, come what may.

Love & Blessings,

KJ

Leave a Reply

