Seemingly Delightless Days

Today is one of those days. If we’re honest, they are not hard to come by in this fallen world of ours, but they are hard to take.

A little boy died yesterday; he wasn’t really even a little boy yet, just 2 years old. Again, not hard to believe. I did not know this toddler & I do not know the exact circumstances of his death. I do know the small Yup’ik Eskimo village where he lived. I do know the community he was being raised in. My heart goes out to them all.

Eight years ago last month I set out on my biggest adventure. I moved to a small Eskimo village in Alaska to teach. I could see the Bering Sea out my bedroom window and walk down to it whenever I wanted. I lived there for two years and then God led me elsewhere, but those are two years I would not trade for anything. I learned more about community there than anywhere else I had ever been; a lot more about friendship; and a whole lot more about finding God in the quiet, lonely places of life.

I taught this little boy’s mom in my high school knitting class and one of his aunts was in my 3rd grade class. Having found out about this tragedy this morning, my mind has constantly gone back to them and their family, the whole village. I cannot pretend I know the pain they are going through, but my heart breaks for them.

Yes, these are the times when delight is hard to come by. But when these times come barreling down on us there is one thing we need to hold on to with a grip so fierce and strong; the Light is still with us.

“I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” John 8:12

God knows what is going on. Indeed, He is sovereign over all. I have no doubt that that little boy is being held tight in the arms of Jesus right now. I pray that all of those who are left here without him can find comfort in those same strong arms. My love and prayers go out to you all. Kenkamken.

Love & Blessings,

KJ

Leave a Reply

